How long will the travel restrictions last?

Restrictions on entering the U.S. for international travelers due to COVID-19 can be found on the CDC website and include:

  • No entry to any foreign nationals who have been in mainland China, Iran, Brazil and other specified European countries within the previous 14 days prior to their arrival to the U.S.
  • The specified European countries are:
    • European Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City.
    • United Kingdom: England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland
    • Republic of Ireland
  • South Africa is a recent addition as of Jan. 26
  • This prohibition does not apply to U.S. citizens and permanent residents and other individuals who are identified in the presidential proclamation.  

The duration of the travel restrictions is currently unknown. For all international travel, be aware that countries are implementing both international and internal movement restrictions, enforcing curfews, and commercial air travel options may be limited in certain places. The best resources for inquiries about flight availability are the individual air carriers serving each specific country.

If you decide to travel, be prepared, understand the risks and be advised that you might not be able to return to the U.S. for an unknown period, your trip could be disrupted or you may be quarantined upon your return. OSU is continually monitoring the travel restrictions; please contact the Office of International Services for the most up-to-date information.

Last Modified: 
January 27, 2021